The Ups and Downs of being unemployed

Life is a story and it depends on the person on how she/he will write it.

And this is how I will write my current status… being unemployed.

Many of us know that at the age of 30, a person should be stable to his/her career, financially, personally, and earned their first million. Being unemployed is certainly not on the list. But what can I say, I’m not one of those lucky people who already achieved their 30-year-old goals because for the 5th time, I am unemployed. It’s not always my fault… except for the first two jobs I had.

Anyway, during application interviews, interviewers usually asks you “what’s keeping you busy aside from looking for a job?” something like that. I confidently answered this by saying “I’m busy browsing the internet and newspaper ads looking for all the job openings, and writing stories.”. I said this because I want them to think that I’m persistent and not wasting my time for non-sense activities.

After few interviews and no call backs, there I realized that I just killed my own chance of getting hired to the companies I applied to. Maybe they’re thinking I’m not doing anything for myself to grow and learn new skills; that I’m depending my skill development on my next job. So, while I hunt for a new job, I decided to develop new skills.

My first skill to learn is drawing. I chose this because this could help me in building my portfolio and land a graphic designer job. I consulted my sister because she’s into drawing and painting, and she’s very good at it. I thought it’s a talent she got from our family. But I’m surprise when she told me that it’s not a talent, it just a skill she practiced for years. She even told me that I, too, can draw beautiful masterpiece if I will just practice it. And that’s what I did, I draw. You might remember Cinderella, I posted it in here with no lips. I’m having hard time to draw her lips. But now, I decided to finish it. Of course, I failed. She still has no lips up to now. **If someone knows how to draw lips, please give me some tips. I will appreciate it a lot.**

Cinderella drawing
This is Cinderella with no lips until now 😦

After few months of drawing, I realized… drawing isn’t my thing.  Every time I finished a drawing, I looked at it and feel nothing. So, I try coloring. My sisters are very supportive of me and bought me different coloring books. And for some reason, I’m excited and happy. And I can’t stop staring at it every time I finished coloring it. I guess, this is my thing. Now, every time I’m in the bookstore, I stopped at the school supplies section and looking for different kinds of coloring materials. Also, to the kid’s book section where all the coloring books are in there. I almost cried, honestly, when I saw a Big Hero 6 coloring book. It’s like a graphic novel and you’re the one to color it. Isn’t that amazing?! I always wanted to have my own graphic novel, so, this coloring book gives me an idea to make it like this.

coloring materials and books
My coloring collection 🙂

Because of this, I decide to try painting as well. I never started because I’m still addicted in coloring all the coloring books my sisters and I bought. But after this, I’m sure I will start painting and maybe visit some museums for some inspirations. Or go to the art studio named ‘Sip and Gogh’. My sisters went there and I heard a lot of good things.

To sum up, the downside of being unemployed at the age of 30 are: financially unstable, some people might think of you as a failure; that you can’t keep a job because there is something wrong with you, and lastly, loneliness. But despite of these, being unemployed is not the end-of-the-world kind of thing… it’s an opportunity to do something you enjoy and love. I think that’s the silver lining of being unemployed.

I hope I inspire some people today! If not, go out there and find  your own inspiration.


#RememberanInspiringOcean

Published by

R.V.Ocampo

Copyright © 2016 by R.V. Ocampo The content of this blog or any portion may not be reproduced or used in any manner whatsoever without the express written permission of the author.

'Let your feelings be known. They are important.' ~ Cherry Hartman

